Globe Media Excellence Awards contenders in Mindanao bared

by | Oct 30, 2015 | Community

A total of 58 entries were shortlisted for various categories of the Globe Media Excellence Awards (GMEA), the most anticipated premier award-giving body that gives recognition to excellence in journalism in Mindanao.


The premier award-giving body which recognizes excellence in journalism from the best breed of scribes in Visayas and Mindanao, the awards gives recognition to print, broadcast, and digital media practitioners who have excelled in their respective fields. Awards night for the GMEA Mindanao leg will be held on November 17.

“The number of entries that we received this year is a testament to the commitment of media practitioners to provide exemplary reporting in their respective fields given the vital role of the press in effecting positive societal transformation and nation building,” Globe Senior Vice President for Corporate Communications Yoly Crisanto said.

Entries were from various media organizations in Zamboanga, General Santos, Cagayan de Oro and Davao. The finalists will vie for nine award categories namely: Reporter of the Year for Print, Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year for Print/Online, Columnist of the Year, Photojournalist of the Year, Reporter of the Year for Television, Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year for Television, Reporter of the Year for Radio, Blogger of the Year, and Social Media Advocate of the Year. There were a total of 352 entries this year compared with 259 last year.

For the print media, nominees for the Explanatory or Investigative Story of the Year for Print/Online are Henrylito Tacio (Edge Davao) “Davao City:Before and After”; Joanna Paola Garado (Newsdesk Asia) “The woman warrior of Talaingod”; and Jesse Pizaro Boga (Mindanao Times) “From the frying pan into another fryer”.

Shortlisted for Reporter of the Year for Print are Eugene Lasprilla (Zamboanga Today) for his article “Police releases computerized facial composite of Ayala blast suspect”; Hader Glang (Zamboanga Today) 5 Abu Sayaff, 2 soldiers killed in fresh Sulu clashes; Liza Jocson (Zamboanga Today), “Bush fire razes over 100 hectares of forest land in east coast”; Gandhi Kinjiyo (Mindanao Bulletin) “BBL brings justice, peace and development for the Bangsamoro people”; Joseph Jubelag (Mindanao Bulletin) “Gensan district hospital upgrades facilities”; Ali Macabalang (Mindanao Bulletin) “500 cholera-affected families get relief stuffs”; Grace Albasin (SunStar Cagayan de Oro) “State of Calamity in MisOr”; Gerry Lee Gorit (Mindanao Daily News), “Hall of Justice fire remains a mystery”; Gil Emmanuel Enerio (Sun Star Cagayan de Oro) “Stakeholders to toughen dev’t plan”; Henrylito Tacio (Edge Davao) “HIV/AIDS cases in Davao growing”; Arianne Caryl Casas (SunStar Davao) “Cyberbullying”; and Jesse Pizaro Boga (Mindanao Times) “The future lies in education”.

Nominees for Columnist of the Year are Rev. Berlie Yap, (Zamboanga Today) for his column “Another sub-standard project, again?”; Fred Lumba (Mindanao Bulletin), “Federalism is good for the country”; Ka Iking Seneres (Mindanao Bulletin) “The disruption of education”; Julie Pear Marie Jubelag (Mindanao Bulletin) ”Farewell as of now Ate Ayana”; Arnold Alamon (Sun Star Cagayan de Oro) “From climate change to climate justice”; Sorhaila Latip-Yusoph (SunStar Cagayan de Oro) “Teaching beyond the blackboard”; Stella Estremera (SunStar Davao) “Because they’re crazy that way”; and Henrylito Tacio (Edge Davao) “Getting worse”

In the category Photojournalist of the Year, shortlisted are Remus Ong (Zamboanga Today) “Water crises worsens”; Eugene Lasprilla (Zambonga Today) “Fire scene in Sto. Nino”; R.G. Antonet Go (Zamboanga Today) “The 30 beneficiaries who received sewing machine pose for a souvenir”; Jazztien Jubelag (Mindanao Bulletin) “Explosion”; Joseph Jubelag (Mindano Bulletin) “Lights up”; John Paul Jubelag (Mindanao Bulletin) “Dugtong Buhay project”; Gerry Lee Gorit (SunStar Cagayan de Oro) “First day of school”; Seth delos Reyes (SunStar Davao) “Playground”; Lean Daval Jr. (Edge Davao) “School Bus”; and John Quineth Rodriguez (SunStar Davao) “A sack of gift”.

For broadcast media, nominees for the Explanatory or Investigative Story of the Year for TV category are Sheila Joy Labrador-Cubero (ABS-CBN Northern Mindanao) “Cliffhangers”; Ben Jason Tesiorna (CNN Philippines) “Davao City’s Best Water; Irene dela Cruz (TV5 Davao) “Magkinahanglan ug paggiya (CICL)” ; and Danreeve Joseffe Revilla (ABS-CBN Davao) “Mga PWD, gibansay pagpangandam sa kalamidad”.

Nominees for Reporter of the Year for TV are Mhiver Jay Dayupay (ABS-CBN) “DepEd puts first T’boli senior high school in South Cotabato”; Sheila Joy Labrador-Cubero (ABS-CBN Mindanao) “Cliffhangers”; Pj dela Pena (ABS-CBN Northern Mindanao) Hoy Hoy Hoy Segment “Kanal II”; Danreeve Josefee Revilla (ABS-CBN Davao) “Mga Lumad, interesadog nangskwela luyo sa kalayo ng kalisod sa ilang lugar”; Vinafel Araneta-Pilapil (ABS-CBN Davao) “Halamang-dagat”; and Ben Jason Tesiorna (CNN Philippines) “The man who thanked HIV for new life”.

For Reporter of the Year-Radio, nominees are Emiliano “Emil” Lido (DXRU Radyo Ultra) for his entry “MILF sincero kaha sa kalinaw? – Civil Society” Eusebio “Jun” Espinosa Jr. (DXRU Radyo Ultra) “Tibook Mindanao Walay Kuryente”, Marilou Cadelina-Manar (DXND) “Diskarte ng buhay”; Angely Reyes (Sonshine Radio) “Food safety ordinance, buot nga palapdan sa konseho”; and Big Jay Lagang (105.9 Balita FM) “Indigenous Student Education”.

For digital media, nominees for Social Media Advocate of the Year are Maria Irene Aserios ( “We Bisaya folks have a phrase for politicians who deny that they’re campaigning”; Olan Emboscado (The Travel Teller) “Into the heart of the Agusan Marsh”; Jefry Tupas (Newsdesk Asia) “In North Cotabato, pease is also children’s business”; and Naprey Almario (Behind the Rolling Chair) “Another 300+ impoverished children will receive school materials through Back to School Gift Giving Project”.

Shortlisted for the Blogger of the Year category are Maria Irene Aserios ( “How to continue helping typhoon Sendong survivors”; Ariel Lalisan (Living in the South) “It’s hard to be a kid in Kiahe”; Olan Emboscado (The Travel Teller) “2015 is the year of Aliwagwag Falls”; Key Manatad (Davao Eagle) “5 reasons that make Duterte charismatic to his people”; and Pat Maruhomadil (Davao Eagle) “Kaigkan: The Araw ng Tagum exhibit”.


The judges’ decisions for print and broadcast categories shall be based on the following criteria: • Content (50%) Adherence to truth and responsible journalism as manifested in the accuracy, fair, and balanced presentation, and depth of reporting. • Style (25%) or the ability to communicate clearly and effectively as shown by the writing style, clarity, logical presentation of issues, coherence, and fluidity of ideas. • Social Impact (25%) involves the impact of the articles on effecting change. For bloggers, the criteria are: • Consistency of content on the advocacy (50%) • Reader friendly presentation and design of content (20%) • Social Impact (30%). For social media advocates: • Content (50%) Consistency of content on the advocacy (50 percent) • Reader Engagement (20%) Number of Comments to the post • Social Impact (30%) Retweets, Shares, Favorites, Likes.

As in previous years, the entries explore and promote advocacies in business and entrepreneurship, information and communications technology, environment and disaster response, governance and social progress and youth and education.

Michael Abonitalla's Intellifluence Influencer Badge